About IBBL


Shari'ah Supervisory Committee

The Shari'ah Supervisory Committee of the Bank plays a vital role in framing and exerting policy for strict adherence of Shari'ah principles in the Bank. As per Islamic Banking Guideline circulated by Bangladesh Bank, The Shari'ah Supervisory Committee is represented by 12 members consisting of prominent Ulama having adequate knowledge in Fiqhul Moamalat, renowned lawyers and eminent economists. The Shari'ah Supervisory Committee of IBBL gives opinions and guidelines to implement and comply of Shari'ah principles in all activities of the Bank particularly in the modes of investment. The Committee is governed by a bye-laws approved by the Board of Directors.

As part of major responsibilities of the Committee Shari'ah inspections is also conducted in all the branches under its direct supervision to ensure Shari`ah compliance in all activities of the Bank.

Members of Shari'ah Supervisory Committee:

Sheikh (Moulana) Mohammad Qutubuddin
Baitush Sharaf Anjuman-E-Ittehad Bangladesh

Mufti Sayeed Ahmed
Head Mufti
Al Jamiatus Siddikiah Darul Ulum,
(Madrasha-e-Furfura), Darus Salam, Dhaka.

Dr. Abdus Samad
Associate Professor & Head
Department of Arabic Language & Literature
International Islamic University Chittagong, Dhaka Campus

Muhtaram Abdur Raquib
Ex-Executive President
Islami Bank Bangladesh Limited

Mufti Shamsuddin (Zia)
Mufti, Muhaddis & Head Of Academic Affairs
Al-Jameatul Islamiah Patiya, Chittagong

Dr. Hasan Mohd. Moinuddin
Associate Professor
Dept. of Islamic Studies
Asian University, Uttara, Dhaka.

Dr. Md. Manzur-e-Elahi
Associate Professor, Islamic Studies
National University

Moulana Mohiuddin Rabbani
Muhtamim, Jamia Islamia Markajul Ulum
Cornopara, Savar, Dhaka.
Khatib, Railway Jame Masjid, Fullbaria, Dhaka.

Copyright ©1983- IBBL. All rights reserved.